Blood Magic (The Blood Journals #1) by Tessa Gratton

December 18, 2019

I'm sad to say but this was my first DNF (Did Not Finish) book for the year. I've been working on writing a witch book, so I've wanted to read books in this genre to see how other authors deal with paranormal fiction. Paranormal is a new genre for me to write and everything I've read says that in order to become a better writer you should read books that are similar to what you are writing so that you familiarize yourself with the genre. 


The synopsis and cover for this book are initially what drew me in when I picked it up from my local library. I had the book for over two months and the first couple chapters really held my attention, but then I found myself liking it less and less. The characters were a bit chaotic for my liking and some of the wording was so frivolous and outdated that it definitely did not reflect the language of today's youth. 

 

SYNOPSIS: 

 

This page-turning debut novel will entice fans who like their paranormal romances dark and disturbing. It's a natural next-read for fans of Stephanie Meyer, Carrie Jones, and Becca Fitzpatrick. But instead of mythical creatures, blood magic has everything to do with primal human desires like power, wealth, and immortality.

 

Everywhere Silla Kennicott turns she sees blood. She can't stop thinking about her parents alleged murder-suicide. She is consumed by a book filled with spells that arrives mysteriously in the mail. The spells share one common ingredient: blood, and Silla is more than willing to cast a few. What's a little spilled blood if she can uncover the truth? And then there's Nick—the new guy at school who makes her pulse race. He has a few secrets of his own and is all too familiar with the lure of blood magic. Drawn together by a combination of fate and chemistry, Silla and Nick must find out who else in their small Missouri town knows their secret and will do anything to take the book and magic from Silla.

 

 

My Review:

 I give this book two stars.  

 

Even though I didn't finish the book, what I did read of it was good enough to keep it above a one star rating.  There were a few parts of what I did read that were written very well and there were character aspects that I did enjoy.  The reason I didn't finish the book was because it wasn't for me. 

 

I found myself reading the book and it was becoming more of a chore to read than an enjoyment. It got really boring, and a lot of the stuff inside of it had me wondering where on Earth was the book going and why are the sentences worded this way? I spent so much time obsessing over the way certain sentences were written that I couldn't connect with the story or its characters. I got to about thirty percent in and I was like I'm not going to force myself to read it anymore. It was as if the book and I were on a two month long blind date and we just weren't clicking every time we tried.  

 

This book is meant for people who live and breathe paranormal books. I've read a few paranormal books in my past but I prefer reading NA, YA, A romantic comedies, I don't think the contents of the book were enough to keep my interest.  Hopefully, this book finds its way into the hands of someone that will love, treasure, and devour every page.  That person just wasn't me.  

 

I did skim over some of the other reviews for this book and was happy to know that I wasn't the only black sheep who didn't love it, but there are quite a few people who devoured it, which is why I'm a firm believer that not ever book is meant to be loved by everyone. Tessa Gratton is an exceptional writer, and I commend her for creating such a unique world.

 

I hope this review doesn't deter anyone from picking it up. Make your own decision :D Allow yourself to connect with Silla and Nate, and hopefully you will find yourself falling in love with them. 

You can buy Blood Magic by clicking here

 

Please reload

Featured Posts

Cutting the Cord Experiment 2020

January 1, 2020

1/2
Please reload

Recent Posts